Why are Lycra* wearing by cyclists so upsetting?
Being a lefty Liberal, an atheist, a cyclist and a railway enthusiast means I understand what it’s like to be in a minority. I’ve never wanted to follow any crowd (Andy Burnham’s a crowd follower to me), to fit in, to keep up with the Jones’s etc. etc.
So what’s this odd rant all about then? Well, whilst I’m pretty much opposed to banning many things (because we Liberal’s don’t really do that sort of thing) I’m starting to worry about those who seem to get quite upset over cyclists wearing Lycra. When throwing insults at cyclists, usually on Facebook, keyboard warriors feel the need to do so by referencing what some in the cycling fraternity wear i.e. Lycra-type clothes.
Whilst not being a Lycra wearer when cycling I do see other cyclists with such get-ups on and yes older men, with a beer belly, can look, how should I say, interesting! But why does this bother many non-cycling people to the point where they feel the need to say ‘Lycra wearing cyclists’ as though what others wear is anything they need to be concerned about? Would it maybe help those who find cyclists wearing this type of garment upsetting if they averted their gaze?
But is it actually the type of material used to make cycling garments that those opposed to it are really upset about? Could it be that, in reality, they just dislike cyclists wearing bright colours? I wear bright colours when cycling so that I’m more easily seen by vehicle drivers; so it’s a safety thing to me. However, I once had a conversation with someone who disliked cycling who told me that cyclists wearing ordinary clothes are OK, or words to that effect. This may, in a non-scientific way, back up my mad theory that it’s the bright colours not the Lycra which some non-cyclists find upsetting.
Taking this theme a bit further, my observations tell me that cyclists not wearing bright clothing (usually black/dark clothes) are more likely to cycle on pavements. Now, don’t get me started about cycling on pavements! I view it as I do parking vehicles on pavements i.e. it gets me as irrational as folks who’re upset over ‘Lycra wearing cyclists’.
So why this rant now? Well, across the country councils are installing many new cycling paths and there’s nothing which seems to annoy folks more than improved cycling facilities on our highways. ‘Waste of money’, ‘no one will use them’, ‘use the money to fix pot-holes instead’, ‘I’ve only ever seen one cyclist using that new cycle path’ etc. etc. Oh, and yes, the anti-cycling rants often reference ‘Lycra wearing cyclists, or in the case of new cycling infrastructure the perceived lack of them.
Now, of course, all the money being spent (it’s actually not much in the great scheme of things) is an investment in the future. Many people who don’t cycle would do if they felt safer, so build safer cycling facilities on our highways and the theory is that the trend will turn from from petrol-heading to cycling, at least for shorter journeys. There’s not going to be a massive rush to get a pushbike, for every few hundred yards of new cycle path constructed. That won’t happen until we achieve a significantly improved safer cycling network across the country.
All driving age cyclists I know carry insurance and they’re also vehicle drivers, in case you may be wondering
*Lycra is a premier brand of spandex or elastane fiber known for exceptional stretch, recovery, and durability. As a synthetic polyether-polyurea copolymer, it is used extensively in activewear, swimwear, dancewear, and compression garments to provide a close fit, comfort, and freedom of movement.

